Ebay - Rules and listing issues

Discussion in 'Ecommerce Forum' started by paulears, Jun 28, 2019.

1. paulears

paulears UKBF Big Shot Full Member

3,831 952
    I'm not sure I have a total answer to provide here, but in the past few days I've had some listing removed. I thought it odd, because the product in question I have been importing and selling for two years with no issues.

For a long time now, you could not advertise say, a Fender guitar and add in the title, (Gibson, PRS, Rickenbacker) to catch those in a search - and fair enough, but you could include sub brands, where a single product is sold under a number of different 'brands' so an advert for a Pofung radio could have (Baofeng) added to the title because people searching would use either of those two brands. No more. You cannot do this - I did and got a removal, and a 'bad mark'. I resisted, grumpily, with just the one brand - and then got it removed again! This time because I had relisted it in the wrong category. Ham Radio - where practically all my buyers would be looking. Ebay say that it should be in Business Radio - decided by them, to be the correct home because the radio uses the android operating system making it a phone! it is not a phone. I spoke to Ebay and the conversation revealed a few things that could be useful to others. Ebay collate brand names from the boxes in the sales listing and now all listings - titles and the ad as a whole - are scanned for multiple brands. Again, keywords also flag up possible wrong categorisation, and then when reviewed by a non-expert, they remove them. They eventually agreed I could list in the right section and removed the strike, but they will not shift on multiple brand names, confirming that they are bad news, anywhere in the ad. Not ideal, but that's how it is. They are implanting this on every category. Worth knowing about!

Posted: Jun 28, 2019 By: paulears Member since: Jan 7, 2015
  2. alan1302

alan1302 UKBF Regular Free Member

433 88