Setting up Kitchen & Bathroom business

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by bloorino, Nov 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bloorino

bloorino UKBF Newcomer

64 4
    I have decided to take the plunge and leave my comfortable sales job to start my own kitchen & bathroom design supply and installation business. I have had 12 years experience in the industry before i went in to sales 2 years ago.

Does anyone have any words of wisdom that may help me getting on my feet?

Posted: Nov 18, 2009 By: bloorino Member since: May 20, 2009
  2. Beachcomber

Beachcomber UKBF Legend

6,723 3,012
    Hope for the best, prepare for the worst.

I'm sure you have all the usual bases covered - local competition / team of installers / advertising / suppliers / minimising costs etc.

Will you be opening a showroom or running in home visits (or both)? Have you got a web site with basic kitchen planner tool using the range you offer?

Posted: Nov 18, 2009 By: Beachcomber Member since: Apr 29, 2009
  3. CKG

CKG UKBF Legend

1,686 460
    I've seen loads of these types of outfits come and the vast majority go over the years.

They were universally crap at making sure the installation side of things ran smoothly. Bits missing or not being ordered, making too many promises and generally over selling and under delivering on the whole situation.

Couldn't fault their showrooms and sales patter though.

Posted: Nov 18, 2009 By: CKG Member since: May 26, 2007
  4. Guest

0 0
    Keep positive and get your name/brand recognised like crazy. Think also about how you market your business.

If you ever need anything designed such as adverts, flyers, business stationery... feel free to contact me. I can help :)

Posted: Nov 18, 2009 By: Member since: Jan 1, 1970
  5. Willself

Willself UKBF Regular

743 54