Supplier upping his prices?

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by columbo, Feb 3, 2019.

1. columbo

columbo UKBF Regular Free Member

329 72
    One part of my business involves having industrial components repaired.

I've been using a supplier for the 10 years who is quite simply excellent.

Great success rates for the most complex repairs. Extremely responsive - emails answered within 20 minutes. Phone calls always answered.

I really appreciate this quality level of service. However lately, he has been upping his prices by around 25% sometimes 35%.

What are my options here?

Do I be that awkward customer here that every supplier hates by questioning every job
    OR
    do I just raise my own prices?

Posted: Feb 3, 2019 By: columbo Member since: Jan 27, 2013
  2. atmosbob

atmosbob UKBF Ace Free Member

3,577 795
    Increase your own prices.

Posted: Feb 3, 2019 By: atmosbob Member since: Oct 26, 2009
  3. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend Free Member

11,745 1,237
    Use a different supplier or pay the prices and increase your own to cover the extra cost.

Posted: Feb 3, 2019 By: Mr D Member since: Feb 12, 2017
  4. AstEver

AstEver UKBF Newcomer Free Member

22 4
    Learn about the reason behind the increases first.

Posted: Feb 3, 2019 By: AstEver Member since: Jan 10, 2019
  5. Awinner2

Awinner2 UKBF Regular Free Member

335 62
    As you have been totally satisfied for many years then this is a supplier to stick with. Build in the rises into your own prices but do ask them why the rises?

Posted: Feb 3, 2019 By: Awinner2 Member since: Aug 4, 2017
  6. cjd

cjd UKBF Legend Full Member - Verified Business

15,406 3,057
    If you've been using them for 10 years you should have the kind of relationship with them that you can ask them why this sudden large change. I'm surprised actually that they haven't spoken to you about it first actually. But I suspect the answer won't help you much.