Nepotism. Can anyone advise?

Discussion in 'Employment & HR' started by WRAY, Sep 16, 2020.

1. WRAY

WRAY UKBF Newcomer Free Member

3 0
    Hi, im new to thr forum so unsure if i can ask this question but im looking for advice on the following situation.

An internal promotion arose and myself and a colleague applied. I did not get it. I am thinking to raise a grievance for the following reasons (just wondering if its reasonable).

1) the successful candidate was given advanced warning about the position so she could train /prepare.

2) she is friends with the manager and with one of the interviewers.

3) she had only been in the job a month or so. Ive been there for 2 years (with no complaints regarding my work).

Ive requested feedback to see if theres a genuine reason for ne not getting the role but 4 months later ive still not received it.

The day before the interview my manager suggested i applied for other jobs.

To me it seem unfair and unequal opportunities. Any advice appreciated. Thanks.

Posted: Sep 16, 2020 By: WRAY Member since: Sep 16, 2020
  2. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend Free Member

24,434 2,970
    1 you had 2 years they had a month. How much extra did you need?

2 yes? It's not uncommon to know people you work with. Have had promotion interview several times where I knew at least 2 people in the room interviewing. And pretty much every job have had have ended up knowing the manager.

3 not seeing there is a problem. Though manager suggesting you apply for other jobs suggests you are not great at the job in their eyes.

Does your company do interview feedback?

You can hassle the company about the promotion. What exactly are you looking to get out of it though?

Posted: Sep 17, 2020 By: Mr D Member since: Feb 12, 2017
  3. Clinton

Clinton UKBF Legend Full Member

5,015 2,178
    @WRAY , welcome to the real world.
    • Sometimes things are unfair;
    • Not everyone wins a prize at adult egg and spoon races;
    • Life's a b*tch;