Courier for small business needs

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Patryk Rosinski, Dec 7, 2018 at 5:50 PM.

1. Patryk Rosinski

Patryk Rosinski UKBF Newcomer Free Member

3 0
    Hello everyone, I'm new to that forum but I already found it very informative.
    I do electronics repairs for living. I usually get 4-6 parcels from my customers everyday, I repair them and I send them back on the same day. That's important- my reputation rely on speed of my services.
    I am currently using Royal Mail special delivery by 1pm. The parcels are usually about 40x30x20 cm and below 2kg.
    It is very expensive and inconvenient for me. Each parcel cost £11 and I have to spend about 40 minutes every day travelling to the closest post office (40 mins is a lot for me).
    About 2 years ago I sent enquiries to a few well known courier companies but I couldn't get anywhere with them. I mainly asked "can you collect AFTER 4 pm each day", I think I got only 1 reply saying "yes we can collect between 12pm-3pm". All other replies were not related to the question at all. I met an UK Mail driver from my area and he wanted to make a deal with me- just send him an SMS and he'll collect late afternoon. Unfortunately when I tried to open account with them it turned out their system won't let me in, as my address is residential and not business (as if it would matter in any way).
    Anyone can recommend anything to help me in this matter?
    Appreciate any help or input.

Posted: Dec 7, 2018 at 5:50 PM By: Patryk Rosinski Member since: Dec 6, 2018
  2. AlanJ1

AlanJ1 UKBF Contributor Free Member

84 10
    Hello,

Your volume is very very low and even with that you are needing after 4PM which is a premium, we have looked at moving couriers doing 10x the volume and struggled to get after 4.
    Not sure what to suggest as £11 for a service before 1PM guaranteed isn't actually that expensive.

Posted: Dec 7, 2018 at 5:59 PM By: AlanJ1 Member since: Jul 25, 2018