Confirm Stream Loss

Pab

Free Member
Jun 5, 2008
775
68
Hi all,
Just made a few settings changes to our SBS server so that a new Mac can access the files. However, since doing this, if I try and move a file from the server to, say, a USB key, I get the following pop up:

Confirm Stream Loss

The file XYZ has extra information attached to it that may be lost if you continue copying. The contents of the file will not be affected. Information that might be lost includes:

Macintosh Application Info

Do you want to proceed anyway?


I assume this is as a result of the server changes today. Should I be bothered about this and can I stop it from happening?
 
Its related to NTFS metadata, security and so on...

Is the USB key NTFS or FAT32? I have a feeling its going to be FAT32, and this file system won't support the extra meta info added for macs.

Saying that, the information generally isn't that important anyway... I've never really encountered a use for it, and lazyness means most people don't bother filling it out...
 
Last edited:
Upvote 0

Latest Articles