www.ukbusinessgrants.org Is it worth it?

marble_pars

Free Member
Jan 4, 2012
125
13
Herefordshire
I contacted Business Link last week about business support and funding and I was pointed to a few sites one being ukbusinessgrants .org, now I have come across them a few times and they always have loads of grants that are supposedly available.

So today I contacted them after reading through the site, and after a long intro and having to sign up to all sorts of things, they ask me for two instalments of £140, they don't mention this at all on the site and its seems steep considering you may not even get a grant. Has anyone had any experience with them?
 
  • Like
Reactions: St Michael
I contacted Business Link last week about business support and funding and I was pointed to a few sites one being ukbusinessgrants .org, now I have come across them a few times and they always have loads of grants that are supposedly available.

So today I contacted them after reading through the site, and after a long intro and having to sign up to all sorts of things, they ask me for two instalments of £140, they don't mention this at all on the site and its seems steep considering you may not even get a grant. Has anyone had any experience with them?

in short.....

run forest run
 
Upvote 0

Posilan

Free Member
Dec 20, 2010
2,540
878
Manchester
I contacted Business Link last week about business support and funding and I was pointed to a few sites one being ukbusinessgrants .org, now I have come across them a few times and they always have loads of grants that are supposedly available.

So today I contacted them after reading through the site, and after a long intro and having to sign up to all sorts of things, they ask me for two instalments of £140, they don't mention this at all on the site and its seems steep considering you may not even get a grant. Has anyone had any experience with them?
Not saying that they are or are not what they purport to be, but to pay in order to maybe get paid smells like a scam to me.

Along with the .org address whois "privacy protected" and the small print "The UKBFC is an independent research organisation not affiliated with any government agency" and the fact the only director of "U.K. BUSINESS FUNDING CENTRE LIMITED" has a registered address in Ontario, Canada, makes you wonder why the hell Business Link are recommending them!

Steve
 
Last edited:
Upvote 0

marble_pars

Free Member
Jan 4, 2012
125
13
Herefordshire
I was told many moons ago that I would only get a grant if I was a one eyed Japanese lesbian selling orphaned turtles to immigrant Somalians in China.

From everything I have seen since, I don't see he was wrong.

That really made me laugh :D.

Thanks guys and girls! I never gave them any money as I thought I would check on here first and thankfully too. I will continue my quest for advice. and Thank you for the link [FONT=verdana, geneva, lucida, arial]vvaannmmaann[/FONT]!
 
Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 55443

Ukbusinessgrants.org review

Stay well clear of this website who advertises aggressively to unsuspecting business owners. They are registered as .org to make you think they are the good guys.

All you will end up doing is losing £300 + vat for a useless database and there are no refunds unless you get a grant and let them post of video of you (1 in a million chance).

I could not find reviews online but I hope other people who need funding do not lose £300- £400 and time in the process.
 
Upvote 0

ExPat123

Free Member
Jun 27, 2012
3
0
So in conclusion, a very dodgy operation, who employs personnel in a legal but not entirely moral way. They sell access to a page full of videos of people professing to have received those grants. I must admit , if you really have a business and really have a good business plan , you will not require the help of this Quasi Governmental organization. I suggest people ring their local authorities. Places like Cornwall are full of grants that they are desperate to give away. You don't need to see the 1000's of grants you just want what applies to you. To get that there are many governmental offices that will give you the info you require.
 
Last edited:
Upvote 0

10032012

Free Member
Mar 10, 2012
1,955
321
These are not too bad its the charity ones which are worse.

I know of a charity which secured lottery funding of around £1 million paid over 5 years. The funds are heavily restricted as to what you can and can not do with it - so the charity needs more money from grants (not being greedy) to be able to deliver its services.

Anyhow... in short they spent £30,000 in a year to get consultation and to apply for grants at various different places. They made about £8,000 back in grants. Tough luck? The previous year before they used this company (the name very generic) they got £24,000 in grants... seems they really are not experts at this bid writing as they claim to be, and the in-house staff were much superior at writing bids.

Unlike a private/public for-profit company however, it was their responsibility by the Charity Commission to ensure a wide and diverse day-to-day management of the charity.

Cut a long story short, they didn't use them after the first year... and successful grants amount have increased again.
 
Upvote 0

ExPat123

Free Member
Jun 27, 2012
3
0
It just seems very sad that a business can exist that purports to be quasi governmental to sell information on grants to UK tax payers when they are entitled to it free of charge. They don't even apply for you, so for the 400 quid they are fleecing I would suggest you visit the link posted earlier or spend a few hours surfing around your local councils etc before spending a penny. I suspect people with real business plans and real IP will never go to UKBUSINESS GRANTS
its the unsuspecting small fry starting up for the first time that will get sucked in.. A shame
 
Upvote 0
J

Jet Virtual

I contacted Business Link last week about business support and funding and I was pointed to a few sites one being ukbusinessgrants .org, now I have come across them a few times and they always have loads of grants that are supposedly available.

So today I contacted them after reading through the site, and after a long intro and having to sign up to all sorts of things, they ask me for two instalments of £140, they don't mention this at all on the site and its seems steep considering you may not even get a grant. Has anyone had any experience with them?

In Short ... RUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Upvote 0
I have just got off the phone with these... I was obviously dubious about sending money to someone for the 'chance' to get a grant, so did a bit of digging. Thanks for the advice everyone.

Hopefully they won't start spamming me. I hope others aren't fooled into handing money over too.
 
Upvote 0

Latest Articles