Test - What does Google return if you search for My IP

Discussion in 'IT & Internet' started by UKSBD, Sep 18, 2020.

  1. UKSBD

    UKSBD Not a real duck Staff Member

    10,230 2,009
    Just a quick test to see what results others get.

    If you search in Google for My IP is it returning your IPv4 number or IPv6 number?
     
    Posted: Sep 18, 2020 By: UKSBD Member since: Dec 30, 2005
    #1
  2. Darren_Ssc

    Darren_Ssc UKBF Ace Free Member

    1,363 443
    v6
     
    Posted: Sep 18, 2020 By: Darren_Ssc Member since: Mar 1, 2019
    #2
  3. UKSBD

    UKSBD Not a real duck Staff Member

    10,230 2,009
    Thanks, has it always done this for you?

    I always used to get my v4 number, but now only get my v6 number.

    I recently changed my router, so assume it is to do with that?
     
    Posted: Sep 18, 2020 By: UKSBD Member since: Dec 30, 2005
    #3
  4. Darren_Ssc

    Darren_Ssc UKBF Ace Free Member

    1,363 443
    Used to be v4, then either one or the other, now v6 all the time
     
    Posted: Sep 18, 2020 By: Darren_Ssc Member since: Mar 1, 2019
    #4
  5. obscure

    obscure UKBF Ace Free Member

    3,319 851
    v4 for me
     
    Posted: Sep 18, 2020 By: obscure Member since: Jan 18, 2008
    #5
  6. fisicx

    fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

    33,479 9,924
    V4 here
     
    Posted: Sep 18, 2020 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #6
  7. UKSBD

    UKSBD Not a real duck Staff Member

    10,230 2,009
    What determines it?
    Is it down to your broadband provider or how you have your router set up?
     
    Posted: Sep 18, 2020 By: UKSBD Member since: Dec 30, 2005
    #7
  8. Nico Albrecht

    Nico Albrecht UKBF Enthusiast Full Member - Verified Business

    842 173
    Your external IP address is assigned by your ISP and can be either static or dynamic. Depends on the contract you have. The ip4 address pool is pretty much exhausted and these days ip6 would be more common. Most consumer broadband will have a dynamic assigned to prevent you from running some sort of server, some disconnect you every 24 hours and assign a new one from your ISP. Sky does that every night.
     
    Posted: Sep 19, 2020 By: Nico Albrecht Member since: May 2, 2017
    #8