General Business Forum Brought to you by Salesforce

Starting up a catering business.

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Jack Park, Jul 27, 2020.

1. Jack Park

Jack Park UKBF Newcomer Free Member

1 0
    Hello everyone, I am looking at the viability of a catering business I am hoping to setup within a golf club which my uncle is the managing director of.

The golf club is struggling to operate the kitchen and are closing it this year. They are looking for someone to take over the kitchen and provide food to the members but they do not want to be responsible for the day to day operations or financial obligations. As he is family my uncle has offered me the kitchen on the basis that I pay for the utilities I use. The kitchen already has all the equipment I would need, so it would just be a case of buying food and cooking it for the customers.

I have no experience in catering and was hoping for some advice from people on the forum. I would be serving hot and cold rolls, toasties, baguettes, chips - that sort of thing.

Posted: Jul 27, 2020 By: Jack Park Member since: Jul 27, 2020
  2. obscure

obscure UKBF Ace Free Member

3,285 837
    Why was the previous operation suffering. How are you planning to correct these issues (with no experience of the industry). Are you planning to hire someone who does have experience?

The F&B industry is notoriously difficult to succeed in if you do have experience, let alone if you don't.

Posted: Jul 27, 2020 By: obscure Member since: Jan 18, 2008
  3. Scalloway

Scalloway UKBF Legend Free Member

16,240 3,436
    Posted: Jul 27, 2020 By: Scalloway Member since: Jun 6, 2010
  4. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend Free Member

23,485 2,835
    If the golf club with presumably experienced staff cannot run it - in what way can you do better?

You'd need food hygiene.

If you are going to run it as a business then you are aware that minimum wage doesn't apply to you? If you work for free even then its not anyone else's problem.