Smart home security?

Discussion in 'Devices' started by tony84, Dec 29, 2018.

1. tony84

tony84 UKBF Big Shot Free Member

5,350 915
    Im a bit new to all of this so forgive the stupid questions (if they are).

I want an indoor security camera that I can just put on if/when we go on holiday that will alert me if there is any movement and will record to the cloud (although I have plenty of space on my server where my website is hosted so can save there if needs be) and where I can set an alarm off from my phone.

I also just want a plug socket so I can turn a lamp on/off from my phone.

Without spending a small fortune, what is the best way to do it? Do I need amazon echo or google home etc? I do not have anything like that so any advice on that would be appreciated also.

Cheers.

Posted: Dec 29, 2018 By: tony84 Member since: Apr 14, 2008
  2. johndon68

johndon68 UKBF Big Shot Full Member - Verified Business

3,352 611
    For the socket, have a look here: https://lightwaverf.com/ I've got a number of their devices all of which can be controlled by a phone/table or an Amazon Echo if need be.

Nest and Hive both do security cameras (I've got a Nest one) that can record to the cloud and send alerts to your phone but don't, as far as I know, let you trigger an alarm from your phone.

Posted: Dec 29, 2018 By: johndon68 Member since: Nov 2, 2009
  3. Alan

Alan UKBF Legend Full Member - Verified Business

6,094 1,684
    Lost of smart sockets - e.g. on Amazon just google for them from about £10.

Same for camera, google or amazon wifi camera with motion detection from about £30

Posted: Dec 29, 2018 By: Alan Member since: Aug 16, 2011
  4. Mike Hayes

Mike Hayes UKBF Enthusiast Full Member

852 210
    These days wifi cams are all designed to be straightforward to use with cloud services provided as part of the product or as an add-on subscription. You shouldn't need to do anything very technical or use your web server.