Small Changes

Discussion in 'Website Reviews & Testing' started by fisicx, Apr 28, 2020.

  1. fisicx

    fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

    33,458 9,914
    Had some good feedback in other threads about my theme most of which have been implemented.

    One thing you can do is show featured images at the top of each post or page. Sometimes this can be a bit too much but if disabled can leave he page a bit bare.

    Whilst I'm not a fan of hero images, a small banner image can work well.

    So that's what you can do.

    https://tradesman-theme.co.uk/

    Click on any of the links and you will see these images. They are random (you can have up to 8 images) and if you hover you can see the image caption.

    Does it work for you visually? Do you even like it? Will England ever win a World Cup?
     
    Posted: Apr 28, 2020 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #1
  2. Nico Albrecht

    Nico Albrecht UKBF Enthusiast Full Member - Verified Business

    842 173
    Posted: Apr 28, 2020 By: Nico Albrecht Member since: May 2, 2017
    #2
  3. fisicx

    fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

    33,458 9,914
    Sorted. That's what happens when you fiddle with things.
     
    Posted: Apr 29, 2020 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #3
  4. dotcomdude

    dotcomdude UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

    513 105
    This page: https://tradesman-theme.co.uk/download-and-install/

    Shows this error:

    Warning: Use of undefined constant header_image_post - assumed 'header_image_post' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/tradesmanthemeco/public_html/wp-content/themes/tradesman/single.php on line 3

    Need to look at your error reporting setting I guess...
     
    Posted: Apr 29, 2020 By: dotcomdude Member since: Jul 27, 2018
    #4
  5. Simon.P

    Simon.P UKBF Enthusiast Full Member

    543 59
    Looks great @fisicx i will make use of this feature. Do i need to upload the whole theme again, or is it just the functions.php and css file?
    Thanks for a great theme
     
    Posted: Apr 29, 2020 By: Simon.P Member since: Dec 4, 2009
    #5
  6. fisicx

    fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

    33,458 9,914
    Should be able to just install the update. I'll send it to you when I've finished today's upgrade - adding a schema option.
     
    Posted: May 1, 2020 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #6
  7. Simon.P

    Simon.P UKBF Enthusiast Full Member

    543 59
    Last edited: May 1, 2020
    Posted: May 1, 2020 By: Simon.P Member since: Dec 4, 2009
    #7
  8. fisicx

    fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

    33,458 9,914
    Posted: May 1, 2020 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #8
  9. Simon.P

    Simon.P UKBF Enthusiast Full Member

    543 59
    Thanks. Updated. The child theme is no longer recognized. I've tried deleting and re-loading the /tradesman-child folder but no joy. Any ideas?
     
    Posted: May 3, 2020 By: Simon.P Member since: Dec 4, 2009
    #9
  10. fisicx

    fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

    33,458 9,914
    Posted: May 3, 2020 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #10
  11. Simon.P

    Simon.P UKBF Enthusiast Full Member

    543 59
    Thanks @fisicx all working OK. And the error has gone about deleting the missing theme.
    Cheers
     
    Posted: May 4, 2020 By: Simon.P Member since: Dec 4, 2009
    #11
  12. Simon.P

    Simon.P UKBF Enthusiast Full Member

    543 59
    Posted: May 16, 2020 By: Simon.P Member since: Dec 4, 2009
    #12
  13. fisicx

    fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

    33,458 9,914
    Posted: May 16, 2020 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
    #13
  14. Simon.P

    Simon.P UKBF Enthusiast Full Member

    543 59
    Thanks for all your help @fisicx , that worked perfectly.
     
    Posted: May 17, 2020 By: Simon.P Member since: Dec 4, 2009
    #14