Should a carpenter have products liability insurance?

Discussion in 'Tradespeople' started by Carpenter28, Jul 1, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Carpenter28

Carpenter28 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

10 0
    Hi there I'm a self employed carpenter and I have public liability insurance but it's just occurred to me about whether I should have products liability too.

I do get enquires with regards to making items such as gates, doors, bunk beds, and have recently had someone request a quote to make a landing stage for the river.

If this is something I should look into how expensive are they roughly?

Many thanks

Posted: Jul 1, 2015 By: Carpenter28 Member since: Oct 12, 2014
  2. The Byre

The Byre UKBF Ace Free Member

8,354 3,236
    There are special deals for small companies and I believe that Simply Business are one of the cheapest in PL and product liability for SMEs.

That said, many UK companies tend to be over-insured. Only you can work out to what extent you run a real risk of incurring severe liabilities as a result of a product failure and match that against quotes from insurance companies.

Posted: Jul 1, 2015 By: The Byre Member since: Aug 13, 2013
  3. estwig

estwig UKBF Legend Full Member

12,126 4,217
    It's a good question, not sure doors and gates are so important, as long as they are fit for purpose.

A landing stage for a river would need to be designed by someone who is experienced and insured for such work. You are then following their design and spec.

I design lofts and extensions, I am insured to practice as an Architect and structural engineer. So any liability for a design or spec fault stays with me.

Your a chippy, normal practice is for you to work to someone else's design and specification. Then if the work falls under the remit of building control, they inspect to ensure you have carried out the work correctly.