Ltd Company Name Help!

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Russ Jones, Dec 15, 2018.

1. Russ Jones

Russ Jones UKBF Newcomer Free Member

16 0
    Hi all.
    I have been running as a sole trader for 4/5 years under the business name of ‘X Garden Services’
    I have the domain of xgardenservices.co.uk etc and have built up a good reputation.
    However, I was looking at going ltd and had a dog on companies house only to find someone has registered that name x Garden Services Ltd in February of this year! I have no idea his intentions as he is a director of a local electrical appliance company too.
    But my question is, do I have any chance of getting that name? Looking back, I should have maybe registered that name as ltd anyway so there was no chance of this. I know with being a sole trader I may not. It’s very frustrating!!!!!! Any help appreciated!!

Posted: Dec 15, 2018 By: Russ Jones Member since: Feb 22, 2016
  2. Russ Jones

16 0
    Just to add. The X is the name of our local town.

3. Alyson Dyer

Alyson Dyer UKBF Regular Free Member

123 35
    Russ Jones Ltd. trading as xgarden services?

Posted: Dec 15, 2018 By: Alyson Dyer Member since: Oct 27, 2011
  4. ecommerce84

ecommerce84 UKBF Regular Free Member

417 111
    Clever dog.

Posted: Dec 15, 2018 By: ecommerce84 Member since: Feb 24, 2007
  5. Russ Jones

16 0
    I don’t understand?

6. AllUpHere

AllUpHere UKBF Ace Free Member

2,709 957
    Read your first post.

Posted: Dec 15, 2018 By: AllUpHere Member since: Jun 30, 2014
  7. Mike Hayes

Mike Hayes UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

902 221
    It's nice to have a company name match your business name but not necessary.

As a sole trader you are "Your Name T/A Your Business Name".

As a company you can be "Your Company Name T/A Your Business Name".

Trademarks are more important when it comes to choosing a business or company name.

Posted: Dec 15, 2018 By: Mike Hayes Member since: Jan 7, 2016
  8. Alan