How to start a clothing brand?

Discussion in 'First Steps To Starting A Business' started by Era, Sep 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Era

Era UKBF Newcomer

19 2
    Hi, my name is Era, and I am trying to start my own clothing line.
    I have no experience in the field, but I've been reading and learning a lot regarding the topic, but still have some doubts regarding the manufacturing proces.
    I've been visiting few textile manufacturers and wholesalers, though they seemed to not be very helpfull.
    Is there anyone that can help?
    I have the drawings and I know what kind of product I want to have, however, the manufacturing process still is not much clear. How do I get the material with a specific print, or a particular percentage of cotton and wool, for example?
    The only reason why I am doing this is because this is my dream, and I have been drawing since I was a child.. and I know that experience sometimes is required, but I do not have any..
    Anyone that could help, please?

Thanks a lot to enyone who spends few minutes to help me.

Posted: Sep 21, 2018 By: Era Member since: Sep 21, 2018
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend

28,599 3,560
    Posted: Sep 21, 2018 By: Mr D Member since: Feb 12, 2017
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Alison Wright

Alison Wright Full Member

36 5
    Hi Era

For fabrics, you need to go out to the tradeshow for your industry. For example, my brand was in the outdoor sector so I used to go to Ispo in Munich. This site has a list of tradeshows https://10times.com/ispo-munich. You also need to find a pattern cutter to translate your sketches into patterns the manufacturer can use. You will also need to source zips, buttons etc. Having patterns will help to show the manufacturers that you're serious. This resource may help: https://www.designerfactfile.com/

Posted: Oct 3, 2018 By: Alison Wright Member since: Jun 29, 2018
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Chris Ashdown