Gutted. Mr Site & Payment Gateways etc.

Discussion in 'IT & Internet' started by Salpots, Jun 16, 2012.

1. Salpots

Salpots UKBF Newcomer Free Member

I've been using mr site to set up my website. Like a fool only thought to ask today how they support different payment gateway providers (well, I am new to this yanno!)

I'm gutted. It's taken me ages to teach myself how to use their services, and now I have to begin again looking for a new ...well, everything.

They offer only paypal to consumers unless they're paying for 'storefront' in which case they can use worldpay. This means I'm limited to worldpay - or paypal, or nothing.

I wanted the freedom of choice and now I'm torn between just going with worldpay and accepting what terms they offer me (as a new business with low turnover) or paypal (even worse) or having to start everything up again from scratch. I know my website looks very basic - and it is, but my skill with webdeveloping is minimal and I had to claw my way around to get that far!

What should I do? Any advice please?

Posted: Jun 16, 2012 By: Salpots Member since: Jun 10, 2012
  2. Jeff FV

Jeff FV UKBF Big Shot Staff Member

Use PayPal - absolutely nothing wrong with it. Customers like it and, as you say, as a new business with a low turnover you might find it more competitive on price than the alternatives - you only pay on sales, no monthly fees etc.

I bet you'll outgrow your Mr Site site before you need a different payment gateway!!

Get your site up and running, get some experience, some sales figures etc. and then you can revisit the question in, say, 6 months.

Jeff

Posted: Jun 16, 2012 By: Jeff FV Member since: Jan 10, 2009
  3. Websitehandyman

Websitehandyman UKBF Ace Full Member