First time importing from China. Hidden extras

Discussion in 'International Business' started by MrJLC, Jun 12, 2020.

1. MrJLC

MrJLC UKBF Newcomer Free Member

6 0
    Hi, this is my first time posting as this is my first go at looking into imports.

I work for an emergency service in the UK and due to government cuts, pay freezes etc. I decided to look into starting a small side business which is lucrative and has some longevity.

I have been looking on Alibaba and I have been looking for manufacturers to ship to the UK. I read that the safest way, in terms of fees, is to make sure they are on FOB terms. I then came across a supplier that would arrange to have my items shipped to my home address, 500kg of goods for 650USD.

Am I likely to incur any extra fees when I place the order or on delivery? Is this normal practice or does this sound too good to be true?

Thank you

Posted: Jun 12, 2020 By: MrJLC Member since: Jun 10, 2020
  2. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend Free Member

24,357 2,959
    Read the contract.

You will also want to familiarise yourself with import duty on those type of goods and of course VAT at 20%.

Posted: Jun 12, 2020 By: Mr D Member since: Feb 12, 2017
  3. MY OFFICE IN CHINA

MY OFFICE IN CHINA UKBF Legend Full Member

5,610 1,319
    Yes.

Get other shipping quotes and you'll find the true cost, landed at your door.

Don't believe what a China supplier tells you, without first checking all the details.

Due diligence before parting with any money.

Posted: Jun 12, 2020 By: MY OFFICE IN CHINA Member since: Nov 16, 2011
  4. MrJLC

6 0
    If I buy on CIF terms or FOB terms and find a freight forwarder, would I then be paying for the freight forwarder costs PLUS import duties and VAT?

Am i missing anything?

Is there much difference between CIF and FOB?

Posted: Jun 12, 2020 By: MrJLC Member since: Jun 10, 2020
  5. CHUKTC

CHUKTC UKBF Regular Free Member

172 29