- Original Poster
- #1
Hi, can anybody tell me if making money from food is really this tricky. I've always done mobile catering where your turnover is high compared to overheads, a lot of your costs bunched into the days when your turning over big amounts. but its always been my ambition to have a shop, am starting to wonder why!!
I am/was about to take a lease on a town centre food outlet, sandwich shop come takeaway.
Good place but way cheap rent compared to 20 paces round the corner. High footfall too.
anyhow this is what i thought...
Fixed costs
rent 8500
service charge 2000
rates 3600
bills 7200
staff 40000
(based on 110 hours a week at £7/hour
or 3 people doing 36 hours week
or 5 days at 7.5 hours a day average.)
Total fixed costs £61,300 well say £60,000 for ease.
Food costs = around one third of turnover
so... 60,000 divide by 2 = 30,000 + 60,000 = 90,000 + 18,000 VAT = 108,000
so... 108,000 inc. food and VAT break even a year.
or 2076 a week
or 296 a day
then after that... every 3.60 I t/o I make £2 (ie after vat and food cost)
so best case... £500 a day is £200 (extra after break even) divide by 3.60 = 55 x £2 = £110 x 7 = £770
x 52 = 40,000 a year.
turnover £182,000 a year to make 40,000. and thats only accounting for 15 hours a day of paid labour. 2 x 7.5 hours. so 8 am till 4 pm. or 4 till midnight. eg.
and im not sure 2 would be enough to cook serve food and coffee etc etc.
So 7 days a week, 52 weeks a year, £500 a day =£40,000 profit.
I also think £500 is quite ambitious when my transactions will be between £2.50 and £4 ish.
Any insight appreciated, am at a crossroads!!
I am/was about to take a lease on a town centre food outlet, sandwich shop come takeaway.
Good place but way cheap rent compared to 20 paces round the corner. High footfall too.
anyhow this is what i thought...
Fixed costs
rent 8500
service charge 2000
rates 3600
bills 7200
staff 40000
(based on 110 hours a week at £7/hour
or 3 people doing 36 hours week
or 5 days at 7.5 hours a day average.)
Total fixed costs £61,300 well say £60,000 for ease.
Food costs = around one third of turnover
so... 60,000 divide by 2 = 30,000 + 60,000 = 90,000 + 18,000 VAT = 108,000
so... 108,000 inc. food and VAT break even a year.
or 2076 a week
or 296 a day
then after that... every 3.60 I t/o I make £2 (ie after vat and food cost)
so best case... £500 a day is £200 (extra after break even) divide by 3.60 = 55 x £2 = £110 x 7 = £770
x 52 = 40,000 a year.
turnover £182,000 a year to make 40,000. and thats only accounting for 15 hours a day of paid labour. 2 x 7.5 hours. so 8 am till 4 pm. or 4 till midnight. eg.
and im not sure 2 would be enough to cook serve food and coffee etc etc.
So 7 days a week, 52 weeks a year, £500 a day =£40,000 profit.
I also think £500 is quite ambitious when my transactions will be between £2.50 and £4 ish.
Any insight appreciated, am at a crossroads!!
