Assisted Conversions vs Conversions

Sparetoolparts

Free Member
Oct 26, 2015
573
52
43
Hi Guys

I've been working on my PPC campaigns along side an agency and sure enough I have seen good increases in my sales on Adwords, however along with their fee's I am actually about £15-20 down. For my £330 spend

However when I look at my assisted conversion data I can see that based on this matrix, I actually made over £1500 using Adwords. So what should I be using to truly gauge how my campaign is doing? Assisted Conversions or conversions?
 

Erno Horvath

Free Member
Jun 4, 2016
39
9
Manchester
Hi,
You haven't stated that those are 'click assisted conversions' or 'impression assisted conversions', and they are coming form the search network or the display network. An impression assisted conversion (especially on the display network) worth less than a click assisted conversion.

You should consider Conversions as real metrics, but assisted conversions are important too, eg:
a conversion from your branded campaign would not have happened without a prior click (visit) from a non branded campaign 2 days ago. In this case the branded campaign got a 'Conversion' and the non-branded campaign got an 'Assisted Conversion', but in this case the 'Assisted Conversion' was more important.

However if the increase over 'Assisted Conversions' are coming from a Remarketing campaign over the display network, than those 'Impression Assisted Conversions' worth less.

Can you be more specific where those 'Assisted Conversions' coming from?
 
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Sparetoolparts

Free Member
Oct 26, 2015
573
52
43
You have fried my Brain Erno!

I'll need to take a deeper look at all this. I would have hoped that the simple answer would be Yes if you have 176 assisted conversions, then even though the conversions are only showing 56, you actually sold 120 more through adwords is showing! so giving better ROI
 
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Erno Horvath

Free Member
Jun 4, 2016
39
9
Manchester
Sorry, I just wanted to be very specific...

A very-very simplified answer would be:
- real value of impression assisted conversions = cca. 20% of the value what you see there
- real value of click assisted conversions = cca. 40% of of the value what you see there

So 5 impression assisted conversions worth 1 real conversion.
 
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if you have 176 assisted conversions, then even though the conversions are only showing 56, you actually sold 120 more through adwords is showing! so giving better ROI

I think you're confusing clicks with conversions. The 176 figure doesn't include actual conversions (final click). So, your conversion figure is 56. All of your other sales were obtained through other channels.

What the higher figure is telling you, is that not all of the clicks that didn't convert directly were wasted. Some of those clicks did lead to a conversion, however in some instances it may have cost you 3 or 4 clicks from a single user to finally achieve a conversion.
 
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Elliottc26

Free Member
May 18, 2012
689
212
48
Havant, Hampshire, UK
Hi Guys

I've been working on my PPC campaigns along side an agency and sure enough I have seen good increases in my sales on Adwords, however along with their fee's I am actually about £15-20 down. For my £330 spend

However when I look at my assisted conversion data I can see that based on this matrix, I actually made over £1500 using Adwords. So what should I be using to truly gauge how my campaign is doing? Assisted Conversions or conversions?

A good way to simply know how well your ads are performing is to look at a number of data points. So:

CTR vs Conversions = you will need x clicks costing y to make x conversions costing y
CPA = cost per acquisition = how much does each conversion cost? So, for example, 6 clicks per conversion @ £2 per click is a CPA of £12 per conversion. How many conversions make a sale? So 1 sale for 4 conversions means each sale is costing you £48.
Transactions (as part of conversion tracking) = you can use ecommerce tracking through Analytics to monitor actual sales from said conversions (if relevant to your site) as Adwords conversion tracking
Call conversions = calls from ads and website as part of your conversion tracking. See call log...

Assist clicks and conversions measure the traffic that clicks and doesn't convert a number of times before converting through an ad click a week or two later. So these people are dipping in and out until they make a purchase from you (returning visitors).

Therefore, if they search for pin hammers, click and don't convert; then spanners, click and don't convert, then screwdrivers click but then convert = assisted clicks and assisted conversion (inside a conversion window).

Therefore, look at the stats for All Conv. (including rate, value, value / cost (ROI)), CPA, and also Search Impr Share, Search Lost IS (Rank), and Bounce Rate to see a fuller picture of performance.

Based on all the data (picture), you can then optimise your account toward your goals.
 
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webgeek

Free Member
May 19, 2009
4,091
1,464
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Typically the PPC and organic come inbound at the start of the buy cycle, then are helped along by social and email until they return direct and convert (assuming they didn't convert on the first visit).

Most systems that have multi-channel attribution weight the first visits heavier than the ones in the middle of the process, or the last one, which is often after they've made the offline decision to buy.

You do have ecommerce values being used, so you know that 1 sale from organic may have been worth 2000 Pounds, but 3 sales from social may have been worth 3 Pence.

Use the order value and first visit channel to get a sanity check as to what's worth what.
 
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