Hi Guys
I've been working on my PPC campaigns along side an agency and sure enough I have seen good increases in my sales on Adwords, however along with their fee's I am actually about £15-20 down. For my £330 spend
However when I look at my assisted conversion data I can see that based on this matrix, I actually made over £1500 using Adwords. So what should I be using to truly gauge how my campaign is doing? Assisted Conversions or conversions?
A good way to simply know how well your ads are performing is to look at a number of data points. So:
CTR vs Conversions = you will need x clicks costing y to make x conversions costing y
CPA = cost per acquisition = how much does each conversion cost? So, for example, 6 clicks per conversion @ £2 per click is a CPA of £12 per conversion. How many conversions make a sale? So 1 sale for 4 conversions means each sale is costing you £48.
Transactions (as part of conversion tracking) = you can use ecommerce tracking through Analytics to monitor actual sales from said conversions (if relevant to your site) as Adwords conversion tracking
Call conversions = calls from ads and website as part of your conversion tracking. See call log...
Assist clicks and conversions measure the traffic that clicks and doesn't convert a number of times before converting through an ad click a week or two later. So these people are dipping in and out until they make a purchase from you (returning visitors).
Therefore, if they search for pin hammers, click and don't convert; then spanners, click and don't convert, then screwdrivers click but then convert = assisted clicks and assisted conversion (inside a conversion window).
Therefore, look at the stats for All Conv. (including rate, value, value / cost (ROI)), CPA, and also Search Impr Share, Search Lost IS (Rank), and Bounce Rate to see a fuller picture of performance.
Based on all the data (picture), you can then optimise your account toward your goals.