Anyone Used Rail Freight From China?

Discussion in 'International Business' started by JamieM, Apr 7, 2020.

1. JamieM

JamieM UKBF Ace Free Member

2,324 350
    My supplier in China has given us a good quote for rail freight but I have never used it before.

Apparently it’s door to door so is there a risk of being stung with excessive customs brokerage charges?

Posted: Apr 7, 2020 By: JamieM Member since: Mar 22, 2006
  2. MY OFFICE IN CHINA

MY OFFICE IN CHINA UKBF Legend Free Member

5,658 1,343
    Be careful at the moment sending goods by train.

Normally it takes 45 days and entry into Europe is normally via Poland, then on to Germany, then on to UK. Given the lockdown much of Europe is experiencing, there is likely to be delays.

You also want to ensure how it's delivered DDP or DDU.

Make sure the figures are correct.

If you need any help, let me know.

Posted: Apr 7, 2020 By: MY OFFICE IN CHINA Member since: Nov 16, 2011
  3. JamieM

JamieM UKBF Ace Free Member

2,324 350
    I might give it a miss on this occasion as I can't afford further delays.

It was just because my FOB Yantian cost is looking excessive but I'd prefer a more reliable shipment.

Thanks for your advice.

Posted: Apr 7, 2020 By: JamieM Member since: Mar 22, 2006
  4. Mister B

Mister B UKBF Ace Free Member

2,488 581
    We looked into it a year ago and it just didn't work for us. Negligible cost savings and no real improvement in transit time so we stuck with the ocean freight.

Mister B

Posted: Apr 7, 2020 By: Mister B Member since: Aug 31, 2007
  5. Mike Foulds

Mike Foulds UKBF Regular Free Member

121 42