Zebra label printer question

Discussion in 'Ecommerce Forum' started by sharkeys_2k, Mar 9, 2019.

  1. sharkeys_2k

    sharkeys_2k UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    11 1
    Morning all

    Looking at Zebra label printer and have a question to anyone who has one...

    Currently we print our labels on a4 sheets 6 labels per page but looking at getting a zebra printer my question is if I have a single label template in word can I print this to the label printer just like I’d print it to a normal printer?
     
    Posted: Mar 9, 2019 By: sharkeys_2k Member since: Feb 11, 2019
    #1
  2. DavidWH

    DavidWH UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

    1,363 248
    Yes.

    We have a zebra for printing courier labels, but also use it to print labels from word too.
     
    Posted: Mar 9, 2019 By: DavidWH Member since: Feb 15, 2011
    #2
  3. sharkeys_2k

    sharkeys_2k UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    11 1
    Perfect thank you
     
    Posted: Mar 9, 2019 By: sharkeys_2k Member since: Feb 11, 2019
    #3
  4. Page

    Page UKBF Big Shot Free Member

    3,561 265
    What you need to do is get the brother label software which is awesome

    And then use that with the zebra printer
     
    Posted: Mar 15, 2019 By: Page Member since: Jul 28, 2007
    #4
  5. HC-Samuel

    HC-Samuel UKBF Regular Free Member

    186 8
    I really wish Zebra would come out with a proper mac driver.
     
    Posted: Mar 16, 2019 By: HC-Samuel Member since: Jan 14, 2007
    #5
  6. UrbanRetail

    UrbanRetail UKBF Regular Free Member

    174 46
    I use a Zebra for our labels and its great, but I find the software crap in comparison to the Brother equivalent.
     
    Posted: Mar 16, 2019 By: UrbanRetail Member since: Mar 3, 2012
    #6
  7. sharkeys_2k

    sharkeys_2k UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    11 1
    I just got the printer yesterday had a play with it one issue I have is they don’t seem to print very clear especially with ppi labels on you can only just make out my ppi number anyone got any suggestions could the brother software help?

    Even basic text seems a bit grainy

    Thanks

    Mike
     
    Posted: Mar 16, 2019 By: sharkeys_2k Member since: Feb 11, 2019
    #7
  8. UrbanRetail

    UrbanRetail UKBF Regular Free Member

    174 46
    Are you printing at the correct scale?
     
    Posted: Mar 16, 2019 By: UrbanRetail Member since: Mar 3, 2012
    #8
  9. sharkeys_2k

    sharkeys_2k UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    11 1
    I’ve made the label about the same size so not much scaling and printing at 100% come out on a4 exactly same size perfect via normal printer
     
    Posted: Mar 16, 2019 By: sharkeys_2k Member since: Feb 11, 2019
    #9
  10. UrbanRetail

    UrbanRetail UKBF Regular Free Member

    174 46
    Could be an incorrect setting. Try this solution.
     
    Posted: Mar 16, 2019 By: UrbanRetail Member since: Mar 3, 2012
    #10
  11. sharkeys_2k

    sharkeys_2k UKBF Newcomer Free Member

    11 1
    Thanks for that I’ll give that a try did google earlier and it suggested this but I couldn’t find where it was I was looking in zebra settings not the windows print settings.

    Thank you fingers crossed this sorts it
     
    Posted: Mar 16, 2019 By: sharkeys_2k Member since: Feb 11, 2019
    #11
  12. Page

    Page UKBF Big Shot Free Member

    3,561 265
    Get the brother software
     
    Posted: Apr 2, 2019 By: Page Member since: Jul 28, 2007
    #12
  13. Pish_Pash

    Pish_Pash UKBF Ace Free Member

    2,375 599
    I have two zebras ...the second one I bought 'used'/faulty ...the seller said it was printing out unscanable barcodes (poor quality EAN13 barcode lines) ...when I received it, it was indeed printing out shabby labels the problem? The thermal labels being used with it (I kid you not).

    What I suggest you do is print out a pure black jpg (knock one up in photoshop to be the same size as your target label)...when you print it out to your Zebra...it should be quite dark/black...my faulty thermal labels were printing out a weak/washy grey. If you do this & yours are wishy washy, then it's either your print head or the thermal label ...the quickest cheapest option is to source some more thermal labels from a different supplier. The test will also reveal any issues with the print head (e..g. streaks of white shouldn't be seen)

    Are your thermal labels old?
     
    Posted: Apr 2, 2019 By: Pish_Pash Member since: Feb 1, 2013
    #13
  14. littlelottie20

    littlelottie20 UKBF Contributor Free Member

    47 1
    Which Brother software is it, P Touch?
     
    Posted: Apr 3, 2019 By: littlelottie20 Member since: Apr 24, 2018
    #14
  15. Page

    Page UKBF Big Shot Free Member

    3,561 265
    Yes
     
    Posted: Apr 3, 2019 By: Page Member since: Jul 28, 2007
    #15
  16. HC-Samuel

    HC-Samuel UKBF Regular Free Member

    186 8
    Looks like you need a serial number to download that software
     
    Posted: Apr 5, 2019 By: HC-Samuel Member since: Jan 14, 2007
    #16
  17. DavidWH

    DavidWH UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

    1,363 248
    google images ;);)
     
    Posted: Apr 5, 2019 By: DavidWH Member since: Feb 15, 2011
    #17