VAT Registration

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by Tashman, Mar 5, 2015.

1. Tashman

Tashman UKBF Newcomer Free Member

11 0
    Hi
    I have been a web designer since 2006 and now i have started selling other web services like domain names etc. All the other web hosting businesses charge VAT, but they don't display the VAT until the checkout stage (ok they put a little asterisk at the bottom explaining that VAT is excluded) so it makes their prices look cheaper then mine. Should I voluntarily register for VAT? I pay out over £500 a year for web space of which about £85 is VAT.
    Best regards
    Alan

Posted: Mar 5, 2015 By: Tashman Member since: Mar 5, 2015
  2. Scalloway

Scalloway UKBF Legend Free Member

13,675 2,941
    Are your customers businesses or private individuals?

Posted: Mar 5, 2015 By: Scalloway Member since: Jun 6, 2010
  3. Tashman

11 0
    Mostly business customers and a few personal.

Best regards
    Alan

4. Scalloway

Scalloway UKBF Legend Free Member

13,675 2,941
    If you are selling to businesses they will very likely be VAT registered, which means that you will be be more expensive, as they will be able to reclaim the VAT charged to them by other providers. In this situation you are probably better to register for VAT, as it will put you on a par with your competitors.

Posted: Mar 5, 2015 By: Scalloway Member since: Jun 6, 2010
  5. Tashman

11 0
    Many thanks for your time.

Best regards

Alan

6. Tashman

11 0
    Hi again,

So am I right in saying when i register for VAT and charge my customers for a product that I have paid VAT on, I can then charge them VAT. Do i still charge VAT for web design as i will be offering both services. Example, if i design a site for say £300 and charge them £50 for hosting, do i charge the full £350 with VAT or £300 without and £50 with VAT.

Best Regards
    Alan

7. faradaykeynes

faradaykeynes UKBF Ace Full Member - Verified Business

2,635 467