Use of OCR in accounting

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by Wiktoria Pełka, Sep 14, 2020.

?

Do you use OCR platforms to scan invoices faster?

Poll closed Sep 21, 2020.
  1. Yes

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. No

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. Wiktoria Pełka

Wiktoria Pełka UKBF Newcomer Free Member

1 0
    Good morning! I'm studying finance at Kozminski University in Warsaw and currently, I am writing a paper about technologies in accounting. I want to compare two countries: Great Britain and Poland. That is why I want to ask = are you familiar with OCR platforms to scan invoices and documents? Do you use them daily, and what do you think about this solution? Also, do you use platforms/apps/programs accelerating communication with your clients?

Posted: Sep 14, 2020 By: Wiktoria Pełka Member since: Sep 14, 2020
  2. Mattymoomoo

Mattymoomoo UKBF Newcomer Free Member

6 2
    OCR ive used before with some benefits...The problem ive encountered is the cost to implement this properly I.E with consulting and licensing fees wiping out the savings of using them for at least 1.5 years. Some solutions look great, but then when the company changes process or software, you need the consultants back to make changes, or it is a more simple solution which can be done in house, but has enough manual exceptions to not add a huge amount of value. I suspect this is really only a good solution if you are churning through 2k+ invoices a month or have a very simple business, not multiple companies etc. Also it seems that each different accounting system may or may not have an add-on that may be by a 3rd party and may be supported down the line...Lots of maybes, so who will committ time and money? However if you are a large company using SAP im sure there is a great solution that is super pricey, but effective...Just dont change the process!

Posted: Sep 16, 2020 By: Mattymoomoo Member since: Sep 15, 2020
  3. Strontium Dog

Strontium Dog UKBF Regular Free Member

411 78