Self-Assessment, Mobile/Data contract

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by meredevelopment, Jul 27, 2021.

1. meredevelopment

meredevelopment UKBF Newcomer

1 0
    Hi, (I've tried to search for an answer here, this must have been asked before so if anyone wants to point me to a link or two please do)

I'm trying to work out how to account for my mobile tariff as a self-employed person.

I have a personal Vodafone contract with unlimited everything, and due to location/access, I currently use it 5 working days a week, all day, as my access point. It's also used for business calls. Numerous apps on it are used for work. I'm a Web Developer so it's also used for some mobile testing.

Outside of work, it's used for everything a smartphone is used for these days.

If I had to estimate the usage breakdown, I'd say it's used about 40% of the time for business. The contract is around £60 a month.

I believe that the conventional wisdom / guidance is: If a personal phone contact is used for work, only the cost of the actual work calls can be offset against tax. This doesn't apply for me, I have all data, minutes, texts etc bundled in the £60.

Any advice please?

Posted: Jul 27, 2021 By: meredevelopment Member since: Jan 4, 2011
  2. DWS

DWS Contributor

236 36
    I ask my sole trader clients to allocate a reasonable percentage of their phone bill for which is business use and allow this as an expense so I see no problems with what you propose

Posted: Jul 27, 2021 By: DWS Member since: Oct 26, 2018
  3. Assistant Advice

Assistant Advice UKBF Newcomer

10 6
    You are definitely on the right track as you have already identified your business usage at circa 40% of your contract. Just remember to keep a note on file of how you arrived at that figure in case you are asked for clarification.