Payments on Account (Something different maybe?)

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by Bryn B, Apr 18, 2019.

1. Bryn B

Bryn B UKBF Newcomer Free Member

2 0
    I am currently employed full time, but i am also a sole trader with a small supply & installation business (Not VAT registered)

I set up the business about 5 years ago, mainly as a way of boosting income, and also the company i was working for was looking a little bit dodgy due to financial difficulty, so i was trying to safeguard my future.

So far each year earnings have given approximately £3000-£4000 profit, however this year i have the opportunity to consult on and carry out a large body of work in July, which will earn the business about £37,500, potentially giving about £20000+ in profit. This will be a one off, and expected earnings will reduce down to normal levels next year.

First of all, this £20,000+ added onto my normal employed salary of £33,000 will take me well over the Earnings level for upper rate tax, secondly i obviously have the issue of Payments on Account for the business. I know i can reduce payments on account, but does it cause any other complications given the above scenario?

So far my book keeping has been very very simple, but i feel this is going to give me one huge headache.

Posted: Apr 18, 2019 By: Bryn B Member since: Apr 18, 2019
  2. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend Free Member

16,763 1,874
    A huge headache plus £20k in profit to cope with the headache....?

Posted: Apr 18, 2019 By: Mr D Member since: Feb 12, 2017
  3. SteLacca

SteLacca UKBF Ace Free Member

1,479 288
    It won't cause any particular issues. Ensure that you reduce the POAs on your SATR rather than as a standalone reduction. That way, it all gets done at one go and, if you are a late filer, stops HMRC thinking you have a late payment whilst things get sorted out.