Paying Employee Cash

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by AnnaT, Feb 10, 2010.

1. AnnaT

AnnaT UKBF Newcomer Free Member

2 0
    I started a commercial photography business last year and it's now doing so well I want to take on a member of staff. I'm a sole trader but understand that I can do this.

I have someone in mind to employ and she has requested I pay cash on a weekly basis. I have no problems with doing that as it would also me easy for me. I will obviously be paying her NI and Tax and providing a pay statement with each payment but I wondered if there were any cons to doing this?

She will have a guaranteed minimum amount of hours with a set daily pay rate but there is potential for every week to be different (if this matters).

Any problems? I'm thinking mostly with regards to declaring her wages for my own taxes etc (I do my own book keeping then have an accountant draw up my end of year results - at least that's what I will be doing as this is my first tax year).

Posted: Feb 10, 2010 By: AnnaT Member since: Feb 10, 2010
  2. MyAccountantOnline

MyAccountantOnline UKBF Legend Full Member

12,283 2,285
    Hi Anna

Its not a problem to pay cash wages. Just keep a record of it as you would for any other cash expenses.

Dont forget you will probably need to register with HM Revenue & Customs as an employer. This may help - http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/paye/intro/basics.htm

Nicola

Posted: Feb 10, 2010 By: MyAccountantOnline Member since: Sep 24, 2008
  3. AnnaT

AnnaT UKBF Newcomer Free Member

2 0
    Thank you! I didn't realise I had to register! Will check that out.

Posted: Feb 10, 2010 By: AnnaT Member since: Feb 10, 2010
  4. Zeno

Zeno UKBF Newcomer Free Member

4,501 1,223
    Your employee does realise that you will be deducting Tax/NI?

This is often the reason the employee requests payment in actual cash. I would recommend that you pay via bank transfer to be honest.

Posted: Feb 10, 2010 By: Zeno Member since: Jun 12, 2008