New Business: Xero or QuickBooks Online?

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by Reens80, Jul 26, 2021.

1. Reens80

Reens80 UKBF Newcomer

8 0
    Hi

I am taking over a take away business in the UK, and whilst I am not an accountant, I plan on doing 80-90% of the book keeping myself. I previously did this for another online business using Xero, and just used my accountant for ad hoc requests, initial set up, VAT and final year accounts.

I have never used Quick Books but heard it is easier to use for the business owner. As a total newbie for a takeaway business would you recommend QBO or Xero? And have you been able to set this up yourself? I am reasonably ok in understanding balance sheet, chart of accounts and P&L etc.

Thanks for your help and advise

Posted: Jul 26, 2021 By: Reens80 Member since: Jul 26, 2021
  2. Nico Albrecht

Nico Albrecht Verified Business ✔️
    Contributor

1,089 259
    Anything but QBO will do! QBO must be one of the worst accounting software there is with a bug list longer than the bible.

Posted: Jul 26, 2021 By: Nico Albrecht Member since: May 2, 2017
  3. WaveJumper

WaveJumper Contributor

2,044 517
    Xero gets my vote

Posted: Jul 26, 2021 By: WaveJumper Member since: Aug 26, 2013
  4. MyAccountantOnline

MyAccountantOnline Full Member
    Contributor

13,593 2,579
    Out of the two I think you'll find Xero is better although neither are systems I support. If you want a good accountant who uses Xero Rebecca at Spur Support Services is worth getting in contact with.

Posted: Jul 26, 2021 By: MyAccountantOnline Member since: Sep 24, 2008
  5. NicoJ

NicoJ Contributor

379 72
    Also, there are other softwares available.

Posted: Jul 26, 2021 By: NicoJ Member since: Mar 27, 2017
  6. WaveJumper

WaveJumper Contributor

2,044 517
    I also meant to add, I assume you have an accountant, check what systems they use if they have all their clients on one particular system you may well get reduced rates on the software