Importing from China

Discussion in 'International Business' started by clareehcor, May 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. clareehcor

clareehcor UKBF Newcomer Free Member

2 0
    Hi, I'm thinking about starting a small Ebay business, selling kids clothes which I will import from China. I'm not talking huge amounts of container shipments .. just maybe one small shipment a month .. I'm hoping to make around £200/£300 profit a month as a small part time work from home business? The question I have is .. do I need an import license, or do I have ti pay import tax - if so how do I find out more info about this? Also, what about customs, shipping etc .. I'm new to this & don't really know where to start! Thanks

Posted: May 20, 2010 By: clareehcor Member since: May 20, 2010
  2. lanzarotelynn

lanzarotelynn UKBF Newcomer Free Member

2 0
    you will of course have to pay duties when the shipment arrives in the UK. i woudl think by the time you have paid all expenses out for the shipment of clothing, it would be more cost effective to just buy from your local wholesaler. it will not be worth your time and money shipping a small amount because after paying all the associated fees, you could buy for less in the uk. you would have to be buying a large amount to make any real money from this venture. have a think about it first. many people buy in bulk from places like ebay anyway and then just re-sell individual items back on ebay. maybe this could be a good thing for you. hope my info helps you. good luck

Posted: Jul 23, 2010 By: lanzarotelynn Member since: Jul 23, 2010
  3. LightingGiants

LightingGiants UKBF Regular Free Member

284 18
    be weary of the ebay market..you will find people that will work for pennies. hope it works out

Posted: Jul 24, 2010 By: LightingGiants Member since: Jun 1, 2009
  4. discountfuel

discountfuel UKBF Newcomer Free Member

110 3