Buying from China: Things to watch out for?

Discussion in 'International Business' started by J.McVeigh, Apr 9, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. J.McVeigh

J.McVeigh UKBF Newcomer Free Member

28 3
    Evening all,

I am heading over to China next week to visit a few factories and also to attend the Canton Fair. We are looking to import one part of a construction Industry product so that we can build our own complete product in the UK.

This is my first time purchasing abroad and so am looking for do's and don'ts from some of the pro's on the forum! What are the common pitfalls, things to watch out for and avoid? Or positively, are there any actions that we should take to make any purchases run more smoothly?

Cheers,

James

Posted: Apr 9, 2018 By: J.McVeigh Member since: Mar 20, 2018
  2. Ecowritingtablet

Ecowritingtablet UKBF Contributor Free Member

40 2
    1. there are should be some trading companies who pretend to be factories, if you want to deal with factories directly, you can hire an interpreter to go with you, then you can ask questions to him/her.
    2. you should use your freight agent to make sure your goods are picked up and delivered by your people.
    3. you can use some inspection firm to check goods quality if you could not get back later after goods are finished. here is an example of one inspection report. http://www.china-qualityinspection.com/Report-Sample/
    4. always compare more suppliers and choose the most reliable one, it can help save you much trouble.

Posted: Apr 10, 2018 By: Ecowritingtablet Member since: Mar 14, 2018
  3. J.McVeigh

28 3
    Thanks so much for the reply. Really helpful.

I just wondered what the reason would be for using your own shipping company? I envisioned piggy backing on - what I assumed - would be the suppliers better shipping rates with their existing relationships.

Thanks Again,

James

Posted: Apr 10, 2018 By: J.McVeigh Member since: Mar 20, 2018
  4. Mr D