Becoming a Locksmith or not?

Discussion in 'Wales' started by remepsi, Jun 9, 2009.

1. remepsi

remepsi UKBF Newcomer Free Member

2 0
    Hi,
    I am comming to the end of a 22year career in the Army and its now time to decide what to do in civie street. I am a Mechanic by trade however I feel like I need a change. Luckily for me the Army will retrain me and I was thinking about becoming a Locksmith.
    Planning to settle in the Swansea/Carmarthen area so wondering what the prospects are like in those areas and what sort of income I could expect to earn? Any help or advice would be great.

Cheers Paul

Posted: Jun 9, 2009 By: remepsi Member since: Jun 9, 2009
  2. JADEMEDIA

JADEMEDIA UKBF Newcomer Free Member

127 22
    I would go for it Paul. Those guys do well particularly if they put theirselves about. First stop the local crime prevention officers. 2 nd write to all the major insurance companies and get on the pproved list. Most people have to find £60 - £100 quid if they lose their purse or wallet and are locked out. If you don't mind waiting for cheque from the insurance for a week you are really in business - but make sure the claim has been approved first.

The other area you should make sure in your training is at electronic locks re both small safes and cars.

Good luck and stay safe . Jade

Posted: Jun 9, 2009 By: JADEMEDIA Member since: Jan 1, 2009
  3. Slartibartfast

Slartibartfast UKBF Newcomer Free Member

67 6
    I would say, research very carefully!

Here's a fairly recent thread which has some useful info:

http://www.ukbusinessforums.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=83439

There are other threads too if you search.

I looked into this a while back, and did a LOT of research into the area I was considering (Mid wales, further up above you ;). I also looked into franchises and decided they were definitely NOT worth the money.

Good luck, but be wary of splashing your cash on something that sounds too good to be true...

Cheers,
    Slarti.