Advice required - Acquiring my first companies name

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Jamal Al-Azzawe, Aug 12, 2019.

1. Jamal Al-Azzawe

Jamal Al-Azzawe UKBF Newcomer Free Member

4 0
    Afternoon,

I'm currently looking to make an idea of a company, become a reality, however just like many other first time business starter, find myself at my first hurdle.

There's a company name that i'm really keen on having as the name of my company, however not sure, If I can go ahead with obtaining it.

Essentially, I have gone onto "Companies House" and searched the name and a "Limited Company" has it but with "Ltd" at the end of the name.

As i'm a sole trader, "I will be managing the business on my own" can I register the same name but without "Ltd"?

The company also isn't in the same industry as mine, I'm looking to sell "Clothing" and they sell "Software".

Or would it be best to add to the name to make it more unique?

I suppose this may be a very simple answer, however i'm just starting out in the world of business and want to make sure I do everything right, so have taken to this forum.

I appreciate, all any any help.

Kind regards,

Jamal

Posted: Aug 12, 2019 By: Jamal Al-Azzawe Member since: Aug 12, 2019
  2. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend Free Member

15,607 1,719
    Who you planning to register with?

Or is it trademark you are after?

Posted: Aug 12, 2019 By: Mr D Member since: Feb 12, 2017
  3. Jamal Al-Azzawe

4 0
    I'm thinking about registering with "Companies House", essentially i'm looking to start my own clothing company, one which I can start a "Instagram" shop for, as an example.

I will be the only one managing it all, so not sure if I need to:
    Register a "Sole Trader" with a company name, or like you said if a "Trademark" is all that may be required?

4. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend Free Member

15,607 1,719
    Companies house is for registering limited companies.