Advice on starting a milk round

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Oliver Day, Aug 12, 2019.

1. Oliver Day

Oliver Day UKBF Newcomer Free Member

2 0
    Im a dairy farmer and already have a milk vending machine. Sales from this are very good due to where its sited, however the outlay for the machine is quite high.

Ive been considering starting a milk round for customers slightly further a field. Has anyone here got a milk round? Are they profitable? How many pints would you expect to deliver a day?

Posted: Aug 12, 2019 By: Oliver Day Member since: Mar 1, 2016
  2. Mitch3473

Mitch3473 UKBF Regular Free Member

1,026 241
    You could always do your own market research and knock on the doors of the people you are thinking of including in your round. That way you'll get the correct answer and more than likely a whole load of customers whilst you're there.

Posted: Aug 12, 2019 By: Mitch3473 Member since: Aug 25, 2011
  3. MikeJ

MikeJ UKBF Big Shot Free Member

5,643 1,609
    Does anyone still have a milk round? Now milk has a long shelf life (over a week, from a supermarket) a milk round seems unnecessary these days. I can't recall seeing a milk float in ages (though you have to appreciate them being ahead of the curve in terms of electric vehicles!)

Posted: Aug 12, 2019 By: MikeJ Member since: Jan 15, 2008
  4. billybob99

billybob99 UKBF Regular Free Member

1,062 220
    I still get milk delivered in good old glass bottles from https://www.milkandmore.co.uk/ - if the demand is there, why not.

My local milkman delivers tuesday, thursday and saturday, I get 3 pints on each of these days.

Plenty of others on my street get regular deliveries, even though there is a Tesco, Morrisons, Lidl and Aldi across the road.

Last edited: Aug 12, 2019
    Posted: Aug 12, 2019 By: billybob99 Member since: Apr 23, 2013
  5. BusterBloodvessel

BusterBloodvessel UKBF Regular Free Member

152 53