Yell.com or Yell.conned?

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Jude, Dec 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jude

Jude UKBF Newcomer

16 0
    Hi,

In a very silly move I was convinced to advertise with Yell.com. I actually fell for the 'Guaranteed' increase in business. They did guarantee it after all, that was the reason I signed up! I reckoned that one decent contract via the advert would go a long way in paying the fees.

You guessed it - nil hits, 0 business, absolute waste of money!

I was guaranteed an increase by a sales person, yet their customer service say they cannot give guarantees. In my book that reeks of miss sales and deception, but I signed the contract.

I could have a Tourette moment about being conned, that's what it amounts to. Stupid thing is I am a web designer, should have known better, but they were so convincing.

However, if anyone else has been 'guaranteed' more business and finds themselves in the same leaky boat then we may be able to do something about it. Strength in numbers? If it can be proved that their agents are making false guarantees then they need to be dealt with.

Their logo -

The book, the web, the phone
    Whatever you want, just Yell

Well I am starting to Yell, just not at them, yet!

Yell.com - If it sounds too good to be true (in this case) believe that it isn't - True!

On a better note - Happy New Year

Jude

Posted: Dec 31, 2007 By: Jude Member since: Dec 31, 2007
  2. estwig

estwig Contributor

12,616 4,527
    Happy New Year Jude.

Don't beat yourself up about it, don't make the same mistake twice, move forward.

Posted: Dec 31, 2007 By: estwig Member since: Sep 29, 2006
  3. Steve2507

Steve2507 Contributor

1,554 222
    Sorry to hear about your problems with Yell.

Still at least you have given a warning to others.

With regards to any marketing I have always gone by the mantra that if someone mentions a guarantee about increase in sales I walk away.