Would I benefit from getting an accountant?

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by FLD, Jan 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FLD

FLD UKBF Newcomer

6 0
    Hi Everyone,

I would be really grateful for some advice on my tax return / getting an accountant.

Some background info…
    I am a mature student and a self employed small trader. I have started a couple of businesses in the last 12 months (both as a sole trader, just doing completely different things).

I have kept receipts, filed them and given them a reference number and put all my expenses and income on a spreadsheet etc so it won’t be just a bin bag full of receipts :). I can also upload all this to my accounts software (do$h) to give a summary for the year, if required. I only have a very small turnover (under 20k) and am not VAT registered.

I have 2 questions

1, Would I benefit from getting an accountant to do my tax return? The biggest problem for me is working out if there is anything else I could/should be claiming for. Would an accountant give me a list of things which I may have missed? I one advantage of having an accountant is that they pay for themselves in the money they save you, but what puzzles me is how they know what I have not claimed for.

2, I will be submitting a loss (due to start up costs) for the first year. I understand that you can offset the loss against future profits, is this correct. If this is correct, then is this done by the Inland Revenue automatically or is this an excellent example of the need for an accountant?

Thanks in advance, I hope this is clear. I have seen all the helpful posts on here and I know you all know your stuff.

Posted: Jan 20, 2010 By: FLD Member since: Jan 19, 2010
  2. KM-Tiger

KM-Tiger Verified Business ✔️

10,147 2,775
    By asking you many questions about the nature of your business. Use of home as an office for instance, not huge at £3/week, but something. And Capital Allowances.