When to approach an accountant?

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Wireless Approvals, Aug 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wireless Approvals

Wireless Approvals UKBF Newcomer Free Member

5 0
    Hi All,

Planning of been up and running from Jan, I plan on using an online accountant to do my boos etc....I'll be using quickbooks or xero to handle the accounting side of it from my end. Question is, when should I approach an accountant? Before I even start the business? Or approach them when I want their services such as tax returns?

Im new to this so don't have an existing accountant (or even know of any) so just approaching one without actually having any work for them seems a bit odd for me.

Thanks

Posted: Aug 2, 2018 By: Wireless Approvals Member since: Jul 30, 2018
  2. JEREMY HAWKE

JEREMY HAWKE UKBF Legend Full Member

4,374 1,381
    If your a start up and your turn over is low , maybe your not VAT registered then you could consider a book keeper service to keep the overheads low to begin with

Posted: Aug 2, 2018 By: JEREMY HAWKE Member since: Mar 4, 2008
  3. CriticalThinker

CriticalThinker UKBF Regular Full Member - Verified Business

126 27
    I would suggest approaching an accountant before starting the business if you are new to owning a company and being a director. They will be able to offer you advice on a variety of things to do with running a company, company structure, funds extraction etc.

Agree if your income is low then would be worthwhile considering just a book keeper to keep your records as the fees will be lower but at least engaging with an accountant in advance of needing them will help you to ensure you are operating using best practice etc.