What would you spend your money on?

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Paul FilmMaker, Feb 2, 2019.

1. Paul FilmMaker

Paul FilmMaker UKBF Contributor Free Member

37 8
    So it's my second year of this shiny, new business and miraculously, in my first year, I made 50% more revenues than expected. I thought my idea was mad but in the B2B space, it worked. If you'd told me at the beginning of the first year that I'd have made this much money (admittedly, not very much), I'd have laughed.

I had to adapt my solution during the first year and that's all good. It's B2B film making, primarily B2B tech.

So I'm guessing my second year will be marketing, marketing, marketing. The product works so I'm throwing everything I have back into marketing. But I'm new at this so wanted to ask you all... What did you spend your money on in your second year of business when you realised you had something that had the potential to work?

Posted: Feb 2, 2019 By: Paul FilmMaker Member since: Aug 29, 2018
  2. Alan

Alan UKBF Legend Full Member - Verified Business

6,177 1,709
    Sorry I can't answer your question from my own experience, as in 10 years I still haven't defined a product that I could market.

But if I was in your situation, I would pay an expert to build a marketing strategy for me, because eventually I'm beginning to understand that I should focus on what I'm good at and get help where I lack experience and knowledge.

Posted: Feb 2, 2019 By: Alan Member since: Aug 16, 2011
  3. Paul FilmMaker

37 8
    Thanks. I just want to say that's a great answer.

Posted: Feb 2, 2019 By: Paul FilmMaker Member since: Aug 29, 2018
  4. Jasondb

Jasondb UKBF Regular Free Member

141 9
    Just a brief consideration in case you have not done already.:

consider the total size of your market opportunity and the competition, what do the offer.

Posted: Feb 2, 2019 By: Jasondb Member since: Apr 23, 2018
  5. fisicx

fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

30,110 8,838