What comes first in joint venture with new person?

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by password01, Feb 7, 2018.

1. password01

password01 UKBF Contributor Free Member

74 8
    Hello,

I have a question about starting a JV with a person who I have only recently met and looking for advice on what comes first. I think a little background would be very useful: Basically, the other guy reached out to me a few months ago on LinkedIn about a venture. He is the business/product guy and I am a software engineer who can build the product for him. He has issued me with a mutual NDA which I will need to sign soon - That said, I have concerns about transferring of 50% of idea/IP to me if I enter into a partnership with him. We have discussed stuff at a high level and we are kind of both curious about next steps.

Some high level notes
    • He kind of wants me to build a demo for him in the interest of running a pilot in a local friendly business.
    • There is no type of formal agreement in place to cover any kind of outcomes.
    • I have only met the guy twice so far and chatted on the phone once along with exchanging a few messages.
    • While I have no reason to doubt his authenticity, I, by default don't trust people and need assurances etc before I start to spend any time / money on this.
    • He has told me he has a company (I can't find it in companies house) that "represents him" and that he would use it for the venture, and could give me 50% of said company. I would rather a new company.
    • He is kind of in a static position right now with the idea and connections to deploy said project.
    • There will be significant effort by me to build a product.