Web Development Discussion

Discussion in 'IT & Internet' started by v1technologies, Jan 28, 2021.

1. v1technologies

v1technologies UKBF Newcomer Free Member

1 0
    Hi,
    I am a PHP developer. I have over 3 years of experience in this field. Now I want to drive my career in freelancing. Can anyone suggest to me, from where I get the client for developing a website?

Posted: Jan 28, 2021 By: v1technologies Member since: Jul 26, 2013
  2. fisicx

fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

34,002 10,098
    Advertising works well. Or you can bid for work on freelancer sites.

However, php will only get you so far. You need JS for a good UX.

Posted: Jan 28, 2021 By: fisicx Member since: Sep 12, 2006
  3. gpietersz

gpietersz UKBF Ace Full Member

1,861 448
    Freelancing sites are problematic because you cannot get much work until you have a rating and a track record on the site.

Most small sites do not require a lot of JS. You rarely actually "need". I use Noscript and most sites work fine without it and load faster - maybe they would be better if they did not use JS at all?

Posted: Jan 29, 2021 By: gpietersz Member since: Sep 10, 2019
  4. Paul Norman

Paul Norman UKBF Ace Free Member

3,096 984
    We, as a business, gain around 20% of our income from building websites.

We gain our clients by advertising, by networking, and from our own website. Obviously, many years on, most of our business is referral or repeat business, but the above still generate valuable revenues.

We have never taken work from freelancing sites.

As a start up, I would build my own site (you might have already done this) and get stuck into talking to people about it on social media. And I would talk to some local businesses.

Posted: Jan 29, 2021 By: Paul Norman Member since: Apr 8, 2010
  5. fisicx

fisicx It's Major Clanger! Staff Member

34,002 10,098
    Try building an ecommerce site without JS. Or a contact form with real time validation.