Unpaid invoices - withholding customer assets

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by Change18, Feb 9, 2018.

1. Change18

Change18 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

12 0
    I'm wondering if anyone knows the law and procedure around the following scenario.

It's a similar scenario to storage companies, who take possession of their customers items if they do not pay. They auction them off to recoup the losses.

I'm unsure of the legal process of this. For example, whether it's an automatic right of the company or does it depend on the contract they asked to the customer to sign.

In my scenario I'm a web developer, who offers hosting for customer websites. If a customer doesn't pay their hosting bill for several months and then I proceed to give a final notice of hosting closure, how should I handle the website?

Do I have the right to withhold the website until the invoice is settled. And if it isn't, do I have the right not to pass the website package (all files, databases, etc) back to the customer? Do I have the right to sell any valuable parts of the website (stripped of company identify and customer data, etc) to recoup costs?

Posted: Feb 9, 2018 By: Change18 Member since: Jan 10, 2018
  2. MBE2017

MBE2017 UKBF Regular Free Member

343 66
    IMO you cannot hold their website legally, you would need to take court action to recover monies owed to yourself to stay on the right side of the law.

Posted: Feb 9, 2018 By: MBE2017 Member since: Feb 16, 2017
  3. Mitch3473

Mitch3473 UKBF Regular Free Member

947 214
    We've done a few times with laundry. It certainly sharpens late payers senses when you've got all their linen and they've got guests. I'm not too sure nor too bothered about the legalities but it works......

Posted: Feb 9, 2018 By: Mitch3473 Member since: Aug 25, 2011
  4. Change18

12 0
    Hi Mitch,