Travelling time to first job and home from last job for a field engineer (and breaks)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZeroWingUK

Free Member
Aug 20, 2013
Hi,

I am an IT engineer / trainer and my job involves a lot of travel every day.

I could potentially have to drive anywhere in the country but usually anything from 1 hour to 3 hours on average to my first job and the same at the end of the day.

I am expected to be at my first appointment for 9:00 so that may involve leaving home at 6 or 7 am. The same amount of travel time for returning home from my last job of the day also applies. My employer expects me to travel approx 3 hours per day (1.5 hours in the morning from and 1.5 hours back to home in the evening) without getting paid for it, they do not consider that working time. If I have to travel more than 3 hours in total to and from work, nothing is said and they assume that I will just do it (their thinking is that some days require less than 1.5 hours travel in each direction so it is "swings and roundabouts"). Is this 3 hour requirement imposed by my employer legal?

I also travel between jobs during the day, this is considered working time by my employer and is not a problem.

I have never been allocated any time for a break in my schedule in the 3 years that I have worked here and have access to all the past schedules to prove it. We have been promised breaks but it has never happened.

My schedule can be very difficult on some days and I feel I have to drive aggressively to get to my jobs on time (to meet the KPIs). On the other hand my schedule can have very large gaps, if a job is cancelled for example and I am far away from home it makes more sense to sit in my vehicle and wait for the next appointment (this may be up to 3 hours!). During this time I am contactable via the company mobile phone.