General Business Forum Brought to you by Salesforce

Thinking of employing daughter in small online business

Discussion in 'General Business Forum' started by 14Steve14, Aug 14, 2020.

1. 14Steve14

14Steve14 UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

747 119
    Title says it all really. I am a sole trader and run an online retail business from home. I use the study which has space for one desk and a computer, but we will figure out working space later. Lockdown and covid have changed the business and I am really busy and have finally conceded that I need help. My daughter has been out of work since leaving uni last year, and does help me at times, and now covid has made her job of finding work really hard.

We have talked and think that me employing her may be a way of helping us both. Me for getting the help that I need, and her not having a huge gap in her CV or employment records. Apart from the obvious pitfalls that you should not really employ family as its bound to go wrong, and as we are all living under the same roof there may be no disconnection between home and work life, is there any other pitfalls I should be thinking of.

I know I will have to register as an employer, and possibly get a job contract drawn up so we both know where we stand, what else should I be doing. Although I don't need it as I will be employing a family member I am looking into employers liability insurance, and have search for all sorts of advice online I just feel that there is something I am missing. Is this also the best way of employing her?

Advice welcome and if this would be better placed in the employment forum please feel free to move it.

Posted: Aug 14, 2020 By: 14Steve14 Member since: May 18, 2010
  2. MyAccountantOnline

MyAccountantOnline UKBF Legend Full Member

13,349 2,508
    Gov.uk actually have quite a good checklist here https://www.gov.uk/employing-staff

Posted: Aug 14, 2020 By: MyAccountantOnline Member since: Sep 24, 2008
  3. Bob Morgan