Teaming up with another self employed?

Discussion in 'Employment & HR' started by JennyM900, May 9, 2021.

1. JennyM900

JennyM900 UKBF Newcomer

9 0
    Hi there! First ever post! Advice needed!

I am a self employed domestic cleaner and want to team up with another self employed cleaner when we need some extra work....
    Each month they would let me know when they can work etc...
    No issues around trust or stealing clients etc.
    I just need to know the legalities of using them as a contractor i guess?
    They could invoice me for the hours worked each month on an agreed price?

I only work school hours so nothing major. My work is enough to pay bills etc. So as much as id love to ...i couldnt afford to take them on as an employee, ive looked down this route but there is no way i can afford holiday pay etc.

Help and advice needed as i dont want to do anything wrong!
    No nastyness please as ive seen in other posts. Just helpful advice! Thank you!

Posted: May 9, 2021 By: JennyM900 Member since: May 9, 2021
  2. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend

28,576 3,551
    Fine. They use their own equipment. They wear their own clothes.
    They turn up when they want to start, they take breaks when they want, they go when they want. And they can send someone else to do the work.
    And invoice you for work done as and when.

That suit? Or do you need more control?

Minimum wage at the moment is just under 9 pounds. As a cleaner I would bill 16 pounds an hour to do work for someone. Having to afford own holiday pay etc.

Posted: May 9, 2021 By: Mr D Member since: Feb 12, 2017
  3. JennyM900

JennyM900 UKBF Newcomer

9 0
    Thank you all sounds ok!

In regards to when they work- could we discuss at the end of each month or week for the following month or week when and if we are working together? We would be working on the same houses at the same time you see.

Hope this makes sense!

4. Mr D

Mr D UKBF Legend

28,576 3,551