Tax Point vs date of invoice vs prepayment

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by Chris1987, Jul 12, 2019.

1. Chris1987

Chris1987 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

3 0
    Hello,

I wonder if you could advise on the matter below.

We received invoice dated 01/06/2019 for service which is related to the period: 01/08/2019 - 31/07/2020.

Tax point shows 01/08/2019
    Our tax quarter is a calendar year.
    In this case not sure how to deal where exactly tax should be deferred to qtr 2 (Apr - June) or qtr 3 (Jul-Sep)?
    Also, because this invoice is related to future I assume that should be put to prepayment but the issue is I am not sure if this should prepay because the invoice wasn't paid up front.

I am really confused about this but I am new at this matter.

WHat is the rule with this type of invoices?

What happens if we have an invoice dated in future we need to pay for the invoice, should we pay only net amount and tax amount should be only paid in the moment of the invoice date(month)?

I will be much appreciated for help.

Thanks
    Chris

Posted: Jul 12, 2019 By: Chris1987 Member since: Jul 12, 2019
  2. lesvatadvice

lesvatadvice UKBF Regular Free Member

735 109
    For a 'continuous supply of services,' the VAT Tax Point is the earlier of date of invoice and date of payment. If the invoice is dated 1 June 2019. Without sight of the document I do not see how the tax point can be changed to 1 August just because the invoice says so.
    (It may also depend on the nature of the services. Please will you indicate what is being supplied?)

Posted: Jul 12, 2019 By: lesvatadvice Member since: Jul 7, 2011
  3. Scalloway

Scalloway UKBF Legend Free Member

14,911 3,165
    I would put the invoice in the purchase ledger on the date on the invoice. I would then journal the Net portion to prepayments and release it as the service is provided.

I would pay the invoice in full on the appropriate date.

Posted: Jul 12, 2019 By: Scalloway Member since: Jun 6, 2010