Employment & HR Brought to you by Jaluch (DocsWizard)

Taking the plunge - hiring staff - scared!

Discussion in 'Employment & HR' started by intelligentppc, Aug 10, 2018 at 1:18 PM.

1. intelligentppc

intelligentppc UKBF Regular Free Member

218 56
    So after 10 years of self employment running an online marketing business, finally I've taken the plunge, done what people have told me to avoid all these years, and sorted an office, and put out a job ad.

I have no prior experience of this. To be frank, it terrifies me - getting anything wrong from an HR point of view and things like that.

Already I've had an applicant who by the CV is not suitable, and I'm wondering if I let them down gently will they be suing me for ageism/sexism/whateverism...?

Paranoid I know but having heard from so many that hiring staff can be an absolute nightmare, I'm so wary.

Are there any pitfalls I need to watch out for? Eg hidden costs that I may not be considering.

Thanks in advance,

Posted: Aug 10, 2018 at 1:18 PM By: intelligentppc Member since: Feb 10, 2014
  2. Newchodge

Newchodge UKBF Big Shot Free Member

9,306 2,366
    If someone is not suitable because they are not a good match for the person specification, then just tell them. If your person specification states that you are only looking for young women aged between 18 and 24, and you cannot justify that requirement with reference to the job, you would have a problem

Posted: Aug 10, 2018 at 1:21 PM By: Newchodge Member since: Nov 8, 2012
  3. atmosbob

atmosbob UKBF Ace Free Member

3,260 723
    In my experience job ads are more trouble than they are worth. My best applicants have been found by asking around.

Posted: Aug 10, 2018 at 1:53 PM By: atmosbob Member since: Oct 26, 2009
  4. Anon377593

Anon377593 Guest

0 0