Such a VAT mess! Any advice welcome

Discussion in 'Insolvency' started by trax7960, Feb 17, 2020.

1. trax7960

trax7960 UKBF Contributor Free Member

92 31
    Hi All,

So here goes.

I've been running a business for 3 years now which was originally a merger of myself and my wife's businesses. I thought one business would mean half the admin - how wrong I was.

We scaled too quickly and ended up making big losses in our first year of trading, these were compounded in year 2 and we're currently about £40k in the red. No lending, funding or overdraft, so the VAT savings kept us going in the hope of turning things around - huge mistake.

This time last year we still owed about £10k for our 2018 VAT bill and were dreading our 2019 bill of about £20k. We made big changes, scaled back, cut loads of costs, reduced wages, sold assets and eventually paid off our 2018 bill and set up a direct debit to pay 2019 - we ended up increasing our direct debit amount with HMRC and paying off 2019 3 months earlier than planned.

We're on the annual scheme so as of today we have no VAT due - but of course, that's going to change in April when we'll be hit with a £30k bill. We've been making interim payments throughout the year which add up to £10k, so in April we'll be on the hook for £20k. Compared to last year, we're in a much better, but still currently untenable situation.

I believe the business to be viable, we've cut costs and improved margins dramatically, I think our main problem is the original hole we've dug, and it's going to take a couple more years of this "new" way of working to dig us out.

We're just desperate for runway - we're a seasonal business so we're not expecting much in the way of cash flow now until May. We have bills to pay, interim VAT payments overdue and of course that looming bill in April.