Stock taking advice

Discussion in 'Ecommerce Forum' started by RoryH, Mar 23, 2019.

1. RoryH

RoryH UKBF Newcomer Free Member

4 0
    Hope this is the right area for this - apologies if not.

I have been running an eCommerce site for a few years and have started to accumulate a few older items of stock. In terms of stock taking, our accountant has advised that we can write-down (de-value) older items of stock but I have no idea of how to go about this.

Are there any rules of thumb for this or does anyone know of any good guidelines I could look at?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Posted: Mar 23, 2019 By: RoryH Member since: Mar 23, 2019
  2. Scalloway

Scalloway UKBF Legend Free Member

15,037 3,188
    Posted: Mar 23, 2019 By: Scalloway Member since: Jun 6, 2010
  3. RoryH

4 0
    Thanks - useful link. I guess the next question is how you go about working out the net realisable value?
    I know plenty about the products (hence why I’m selling it) but don’t really know how much it devalues after 12 months...

Posted: Mar 23, 2019 By: RoryH Member since: Mar 23, 2019
  4. RoryH

4 0
    Bump - any suggestions anyone? Could really use some guidance!

Posted: Mar 25, 2019 By: RoryH Member since: Mar 23, 2019
  5. billmccallum1957

billmccallum1957 UKBF Ace Full Member

1,964 416
    Write-down to net realisable value
    NRV is the estimated selling price in the ordinary course of business, less the estimated cost of completion and the estimated costs necessary to make the sale. [IAS 2.6] Any write-down to NRV should be recognised as an expense in the period in which the write-down occurs. Any reversal should be recognised in the income statement in the period in which the reversal occurs. [IAS 2.34]

You have the products, but are they on sale or at list price? What is your discounted price (if any)?

If you paid £2 each for an item, but they are now selling for £1 each, then the NRV is £1.