Spanish e-comerce with a UK limited company - any advice ?

Discussion in 'International Business' started by LindnArden, Jul 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LindnArden

LindnArden UKBF Newcomer Free Member

6 0
    Hi there (almost) newbie here :) We are looking to set up an online store in english and spanish to sell product in Spain but via a UK limited company. I was wondering:

a) is this possible, or do we need some kind of legal entity in Spain ?
    b) obviously we will need a euro bank account, but does it need to be a Spanish bank account ? Probably not I guess, my concern is that the front end on the payment processing / merchant services has to be in Spanish
    c) are there local Spanish VAT issues as we are paying VAT on the goods bought in the UK anyway ?

I look forward to hearing any advice or recommendations on Spanish banks / payment systems / office services etc.

cheers,
    Kevin :)

Posted: Jul 24, 2010 By: LindnArden Member since: Jan 28, 2008
  2. ShortCouture

ShortCouture UKBF Newcomer Free Member

296 62
    Looks as though you will essentially be a UK based company shipping to Spanish customers. You will presumably price and charge in euros -or allow the Spanish customers to see prices in €. Local tax issues are the customer's problem I believe. The item is sold in the UK and shipped overseas so you will not charge VAT to them.

I would say be careful when choosing your payment gateway - I know that a lot of international transactions fail because the payment systems fail. Not sure at what point they fail but best to have a good discussion with the large payment gateway providers.

I don't beleive that you need a Spanish bank a/c.

As you are actually aiming at the Spanish market (rather than a UK ecomm company that gets the odd international order) I would advise talking to HMRC -or at very least a good accountant as to how you pay/charge/claim the VAT.