Sole trader, some book keeping questions. Buying and selling.

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by amandajoe07, Aug 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. amandajoe07

amandajoe07 UKBF Newcomer Free Member

13 0
    Hi My Name is Joe, after having an interest in collecting Militaria for approximately 20 years I decided in mid April this year to give it a go buying and selling it as I saw some niche markets.

My company name is Fritz and Brits Militaria, I sell German and British Militaria. I am a sole trader. I also have a full time job.

I buy 50% Online and 50% for cash (Mainly from local markets, antique shops etc but also off private people), I sell almost exclusively online as I realise maximum profits that way as I ship internationally.

I have been buying and selling since then and it's been going ok. I have been recording everything in huge detail what I've bought sold etc but now I'm increasing volume hopefully by quite a bit. I really want to record just what is required so it is easier.

I have a few questions,

1) If I bought say 100 various items for £500 off a seller that I could sell for different values do I have to list each individual item I've bought separately e.g 100 entries? or can I just list 'job lot' £5 per item?

1) When I sell them individually do I list each one, with purchase price, selling price and costs? Or do I just list the sale price and just inventory what I have left at the end of the year with approximate value?

3 ) when buying for cash do I write myself an invoice of what bought and cost?

4 ) If I exchange an item, sometimes for equal value for something that is easier to sell, sometimes for more, how do I record this? Sometimes I even do a part trade + cash how do I work out profits etc?