Self Employed and Claiming Working Tax Credits

Discussion in 'Accounts & Finance' started by Voddiemonster, Jul 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Voddiemonster

Voddiemonster UKBF Newcomer Free Member

26 3
    Is anyone else self employed and claiming working tax credit?

I was advised by a friend that because i am just starting out and I have no capital or savings that I could put down Zero income but claim my hours. I would then be entitled to full tax working tax credits. Does this sound right?

I am just concerned because i have had so much trouble with working tax credits before and i am still trying to get back working tax credits due to me since January, whilst working full time in the NHS so when i do make my change of circumstances, i want to ensure that i do get things right and maybe they wont make any errors this time.

I have two children under 16 and i am a single parent if that helps.

Posted: Jul 10, 2007 By: Voddiemonster Member since: Jul 10, 2007
  2. miketombs

miketombs UKBF Enthusiast Free Member

536 29
    You're certainly entitled to claim WTC whilst you're self-employed. It's usually based on the previous year's income, but if (as in you case probably) there will be completely different circumstances, I imagine you can give an estimate for the current year. That won't be zero though, it will be your expected profit.

Posted: Jul 20, 2007 By: miketombs Member since: Jan 13, 2007
  3. Voddiemonster

26 3
    Many thanks for the advice. I mentioned the Zero income as i was informed that when you are starting a business from scratch that the inland revenue does not expect you to make any profit within the first year of business. Not sure if the advice i have been given is right but that is what i have been told.

Posted: Jul 20, 2007 By: Voddiemonster Member since: Jul 10, 2007
  4. carey bookkeeping

carey bookkeeping UKBF Newcomer Free Member

196 24
    Hi, You are just down the road from me!