Sea freight from China to UK - Multiple suppliers different locations

Discussion in 'International Business' started by JenUKImportBusiness, Feb 25, 2021.

1. JenUKImportBusiness

JenUKImportBusiness UKBF Newcomer Free Member

5 0
    Hello all,
    I am new with sea freight so I would appreciate some help and advice here. Apologise it might be a long post I just want to make things clear.

I am opening an interior online store on Amazon and its website. I would like to get some products to ship from China to UK Amazon FBA Warehouses. I basically know the idea of how to do it like pallets, labeling, etc so this process I am not that worried about.

I used to place small quantities of items and ship them via air from different suppliers. When I did that, I just contacted one air shipping agent in China, they would tell me their Chinese warehouse address. Then I contact different suppliers in China, placed the orders and told them to ship the products to the shipping agent warehouse. The shipping agents will take care of the rest for me including creating the invoices and customs documents etc. - No one ever asked me if the product suppliers have the right to export from China or anything like that, and customs clearance was simple.

Now I started to send inquires about sea freight. I feel there are more restrictions. I need to purchase some tables, some home arts, bedding sets etc. I was told if I want to do that, I will have to ask each supplier to create their own commercial invoices, which will incur multiple customs clearance charges. Alternatively, I request one factory to serve as the exporter of record and to provide you with a single commercial invoice for all cargo.

I haven't contacted any supplier yet, but will any of them make one single invoice for me to include the other products from other suppliers? If I don't want to rely on the suppliers. Will any shipping agent to do this for me? What is the best way to do this?